Issue No. 26 - Week of 1/14/2012

All digest content is protected by copyright © 2011 The Underdawg



Photo courtesy of GoBison.com

NORTH DAKOTA STATE BISON - 2011 FCS CHAMPIONS!!

The Underdawg went 15-4 overall throughout the FCS postseason, with the final prediction going to the North Dakota State Bison. Congrats to Coach Bohl and the NDSU staff and team for a fantastic season and championship victory!

Here's a brief recap of the championship game from last Saturday:

North Dakota State 17, Sam Houston State 6.... The Bison held the nation's #1 scoring team to six points afront a capacity crowd of (mostly) orange and blue. A defensive battle for both teams made for a dismal 6-3 contest at half-time, in favor of Sam Houston. The second half played favor to NDSU, who scored 14 unanswered points. Just into the 3rd quarter, a fake punt set up a first-down play for a screenout pass to DJ McNorton, who scampered in for six points. The Bison defense made key plays that changed the momentum. LB, Travis Beck picked off a pass from Brian Bell deep in the 4th quarter and returned it 63 yds. The play set up a QB sneak for Brock Jensen which proved to be the dagger. The energy of the sell-out crowd shifted colors over to the green & gold. Perhaps the most impressive part of the entire game is how Sam Houston was denied the end-zone and rushed for less than 100 yards (95 yd total)....84 yds contributed by RB, Tim Flanders. The adage that defense wins championships held true as North Dakota State undoubtedly and undeniably proved their worthiness as champs of the FCS!

2011 FCS Championship Game quick facts:

- NDSU has the #1 season-end scoring defense, allowing just 12.73 points per game.
- Game attendance: 20,586
- SMSU led the FCS in scoring with 39 pts per game average (going into the final game)
- Travis Beck (Freshmen LB) was named the "Outstanding Player of the Game" with 7 tackles and a key interception.
- Six points was SMSU's lowest scoring output against an FCS opponent since October 2009 (scored 3 pts versus Stephen F. Austin)
- Fifth time in an FCS title game that the losing team scored six or less points.
- Third highest attendance for an FCS title game since 1996.
- SMSU is the 3rd team to go undefeated during the regular season and playoffs, only to lose in the final title game. The other 2 are Montana (14-0 before loss in 1996 to Marshall; 14-0 before loss to Villanova in 2009) and Georgia Southern (14-0 before loss to UMass in 1998).
- NDSU is the only team that moved from Division II into FCS play and win the championship within 4 seasons. (doesn't include teams that won between 1978-1981, when the FCS was formed).

FCS AWARD WINNERS

* The Sports Network and Fathead.com awarded the 2011 FCS most outstanding leaders of offense, defense, coaching, rookie, and overall honors last week in Frisco, TX.

<u>Walter Payton Award - Most Outstanding Player</u> Bo Levi Mitchell (QB), Eastern Washington

<u>Buck Buchanan Award - Most Outstanding Defensive Player</u> Matt Evans (LB), New Hampshire

Eddie Robinson Award- Most Outstanding Head Coach Rob Ambrose, Towson

<u>Jerry Rice Award - Most Outstanding Rookie</u> Terrance West (RB), Towson

Read how they won these honors

* The National Football Foundation awarded the 2011 Divisional Championship Trophies in San Antonio, TX earlier this week. The awards go to head coaches who've won their respective division championships.

John F. Kennedy Trophy - FCS Head Coach Champion Craig Bohl, North Dakota State

Congrats to all recipients!

Here are the top FCS teams in cumulative scoring for 2011:

Sam Houston State- 554 pts Stony Brook - 494 pts Georgia Southern - 492 pts Old Dominion - 477 pts Montana - 474 pts North Dakota State- 470 pts

Check out "Lighting Up the Scoreboard" report

FCS LEADERBOARD

Here are the 2011 season-ending category leaders (source: NCAA.com):

Scoring Defense (pts allowed per game)

- 1. North Dakota St. 12.73
- 2. Sam Houston St. 14.93
- 3. Jackson St. 15.27
- 4. Norfolk St. 17.08
- 5. Harvard 17.10

Total Offense (avg yds per game)

- 1 Bo Levi Mitchell Eastern Wash. 364.00
- 2 Casey Therriault Jackson St. 355.55
- 3 Chris Lum Lehigh 346.08
- 4 Jeff Mathews Cornell 327.40
- 5 Casey Brockman Murray St. 315.45

Passing (avg completions per game)

1 Jonathan Carkhuff	Davidson	31.64
2 Zach Lewis	Morehead St.	29.45
3 Bo Levi Mitchell	Eastern Wash.	28.91
4 Casey Brockman	Murray St.	28.73
5 Chris Lum	Lehigh	27.54

Total Team Offense (avg yds per game)

1 Jackson St.	490.91
2 Morehead St.	478.91

3 Lehigh	469.62
4 Murray St.	460.91
5 Youngstown S	t. 458.64

Total Team Defense (avg yds per game allowed)

1	Texas Southern	245.00
2	Norfolk St.	275.75
3	Sam Houston St.	279.93
4	Duquesne	281.64
5	Jackson St.	284.64

MORE COLLEGE FOOTBALL TO WATCH

Casino del Sol College All-Star Game - Monday, 1/16/2012 at 9pm ET on FoxSports Arizona

The Casino del Sol College All-Star Game (formerly the Eastham Energy Game) is a post-season college football all-star game that was established in 2011 as part of the post-BCS events. The game is currently played at Kino Veterans Memorial Stadium in Tucson, Arizona. It's the East (Stars) versus the West (Stripes) with 16 players representing the FCS such as Tre Gray (WR, Richmond), Adrian Hamilton (DE, Prairie View A&M), and Alex Gottlieb (TE, William & Mary).

Here's the list of all 16 FCS players



Do you need sports information research to boost your marketing or advertising media? The Underdawg can provide unique solutions to fit your needs. <u>Click here to inquire</u>

Visit <u>TheUnderdawg.com</u> and enter your answer in the "Contact Us" section. Trivia answer and winner will be announced on the next digest.